Four power distribution companies have disconnected and demolished a total of 602 buildings that are located within the right of way of power lines in their respective franchise areas.

Findings from the Federal Ministry of Power, Works and Housing in Abuja on Thursday showed that the demolition and disconnection were mainly carried out by the Benin, Ibadan, Jos and Kaduna Discos in May this year.

The other seven Discos did not carry out any disconnection or demolition of structures under power lines in their areas of operation during the period captured by the ministry. The firms are the Abuja, Eko, Enugu, Ikeja, Kano, Port Harcourt and Yola Discos.

The seven were ranked last by the Nigerian Electricity Management Services Agency in terms of compliance with the order of disconnection and demolition of structures located under or within power lines.

Source: The Punch

Be the first to know when we publish an update

Be the first to know when we publish an update

Leave a Reply