President Muhammadu Buhari has conferred the “Distinguished Capacity Development Award” on the executive secretary of the Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board (NCDMB), Mr. Simbi Kesiye Wabote.

Wabote was among the distinguished Nigerians where honored at the Nigeria Excellence Award in Public Service (NEAPS), held at the State House Conference Centre, Abuja last Friday

President Buhari said Wabote was honoured for his outstanding strides, particularly in human and infrastructural capacity development since he was appointed as the helmsman of NCDMB in September 2016 and got reappointed in 2020.

Also Read: NCDMB Boss Bags Nigeria’s Excellence in Public Service Award

Other recipients of awards in different categories included former President Goodluck Jonathan, President of the Senate, Dr. Ahmad Lawan, Speaker of Federal House of Representatives, Rt. Honourable Femi Gbajabiamila, some serving governors, ministers, heads of performing agencies and service chiefs.

President Buhari said in his address that the national recognition is intended to motivate other public officials to dedicate themselves and perform diligently in office. He noted that the awardees were “being recognised for exhibiting transparency and accountability in the discharge of their responsibilities.”

Buhari said: “This award is in appreciation of the giant strides in the transformation of Nigeria. I thank you for your contributions and I expect this to serve as a motivation for you and others to continue doing more.”

In his speech, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr. Boss Mustapha explained that nominees were selected independently and professionally by the team of assessors constituted by the Best Strategic Media (TBS).

Also Read: NCDMB, Partners Conduct Technical Upgrades of Citadels in PH

According to  him, the Nigeria Excellence Award in Public Service (NEAPS) was set up to recognise distinguished public service to Nigeria, through either contributions to individuals, state or local community or the public through excellence in leadership, service and humanitarianism.

Noting that recipients could range from federal, state and local governments as well as from non-profit organisations or persons in academia, he noted that all must have made significant contributions as career public servants.

He challenged public officials to rededicate themselves to providing quality service to Nigerians irrespective of political, religious or regional differences, nothing that the challenges that faced were huge and should be tackled by all persons in positions of authority.

Mr. Wabote and the group managing director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company (NNPC Ltd), Mr. Mele Kolo Kyari were the only recipients from the oil and industry. The GMD was recognised for outstanding reform initiative.

Be the first to know when we publish an update

Be the first to know when we publish an update

Leave a Reply