The highlights of the new nationwide measures announced by President Mohammadu Buhari during his third national broadcast on Monday night as part of the Federal Government’s efforts at curbing the spread of the novel Coronavirus in Nigeria are as follows;

  • The lockdown imposed on Abuja, Lagos and Ogun states has been extended by one week.
  • FG has approved a phased and gradual easing of the lockdown from May 4.
  • Selected businesses and offices can open from 9am to 6pm
  • There will be an overnight curfew from 8pm to 6am.
  • This means all movements will be prohibited during this period except for essential services;
  •  There will be a ban on non-essential inter-state passenger travels until further notice;
  • There will be partial and controlled interstate movement of goods and services from producers to consumers; and
  • We will strictly ensure the mandatory use of face masks or coverings in public in addition to maintaining physical distancing and personal hygiene.
  • The restrictions on social and religious gathers remain in place.
  • A total lockdown in Kano State for a period of two weeks effective immediately

Note also that State Governments, corporate organisations and philanthropists are encouraged to support the production of cloth masks for citizens.

For the avoidance of doubt, the lockdown in the FCT, Lagos and Ogun States remains in place until the new ones come into effect on Monday, 4th May 2020 at 9am.

The Presidential Task Force shall provide sector specific details and timing guidelines to allow for preparations by Governments, businesses and institutions.

State Governors may choose to amend adapt and expand based on their unique circumstances provided they maintain alignment with the guidelines issued on public health and hygiene.

Peace Obi

Be the first to know when we publish an update

Be the first to know when we publish an update

Leave a Reply