The Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC) has approved the reappointment of a twelve-member dispute resolution panel for the Nigerian Electricity Supply Industry (NESI).

NESI is a coalition of stakeholders in the electricity supply chain consisting of the distribution and generating companies.

The Assistant General Manager, Government, External and Industry Relations, NERC, Mr Michael Faloseyi, made this disclosure in a statement in Abuja on Monday.

Faloseyi listed the members of the reconstituted panel to include, Mrs Olufunmilayo Roberts, Mr Adeyemi Akisanya, Mr Augustine Mamedu and Mr Adeyemi Oyedele.

Others, according to the statement include: Messrs Hussaini Mohammed, Okechukwu Chiazor, Ajagbe Oyetunde, Onagoruwa Bolanle, Ezekiel Osarieme, Batholomew Onyejekwe, Nnena Ejekam, and Sadiku Folorunsho.

He said that the appointment of the members was in line with Section 42.1.3 of the Market Rules, which empowers the commission to constitute the panel.

Faloseyi said that the appointment was also in line with Section 42.3.8 (c) of the Market Rule that permits the re-appointment of members for a second term.

“The functions of the panel, as spelt out in Section 42.3.7 of the Market Rules, include, the arbitration and settlement of disputes between market participants in the Nigerian electricity market.

“Others are the System Operator (SO), the Market Operator (MO), and other licensees engaged in the trading of electricity,” he said.

The commission advised market participants to take advantage of the channel of alternative dispute resolution for the resolution of disputes in the electricity industry in line with the provisions of the Market Rules,” he said.

Be the first to know when we publish an update

Leave a Reply