Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari swore members of his cabinet into office on Wednesday, assigning former governor of Bayelsa state, Chief Timipreye, as the New Minister of State for Petroleum Resources in a cabinet of 43 ministers.

The President kept the petroleum portfolio proper for himself, as he did in his first tenure, leaving the oil sector portfolio to be managed by the new minister of state on a day-to-day basis. Silva replaces Emmanuel Kachikwu who was Nigeria’s representative at the Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries meetings, as well president of the African Petroleum Producers Organisation (APPO)

While assuming office in Abuja shortly after the swearing-in ceremony, the new minister of state for petroleum resources, pledged to reposition and chart a way forward for the Nigerian petroleum industry

He further pledged to work with the experts at the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) and the other departments and agencies under the ministry to move the sector forward.

In a welcome ceremony at the NNPC Towers in Abuja, the new minister who was accompanied by his wife, Alanyingi Sylva, stated that with the calibre of workforce in the ministry, he was sure that the nation’s oil and gas sector would move to the next level.

Chief Sylva, who is a former Governor of Bayelsa state brings on the job several years of cognate experience in the petroleum sector. The new Minister of State contributed profoundly to the institution of the Amnesty Programme in the Niger Delta region which, over time, has led to the restoration of peace in the oil-producing areas of Nigeria.

Earlier, the permanent secretary of the ministry of petroleum resources, Dr Folashade Yemi-Esan, reassured Chief Sylva of the readiness of all members of staff in the Ministry to support him to succeed in the onerous task of transforming the Nigerian oil and gas sector for the good of all stakeholders.

On hand to welcome the minister at the brief ceremony were the group managing director of NNPC, Mallam Mele Kyari; executive secretary of the Petroleum Training Development Fund (PTDF), Dr Bello Aliyu Gusau; and the executive secretary of the Petroleum Equalisation Fund (PEF), Alhaji Ahmed Bobboi, amongst others.

Be the first to know when we publish an update

Be the first to know when we publish an update

Leave a Reply