President Buhari Appoints Okadigbo as NNPC Board Chairman

0 274

By Chibisi Ohakah, Abuja

President Muhammadu Buhari has named a new board for the National Petroleum
Company (NNPC) Ltd, Senator Magret Chuba Okadigbo, with wife of the former Senate President, Rt. Hon. Chuba Okadigbo, as chairman.

Other members of the board include Mele Kolo Kyari, chief executive officer, and Umar I. Ajiya, chief financial officer, Dr. Tajudeen Umar, Mrs. Lami O. Ahmed, Mallam Mohammed Lawal, Engr. Henry Obih, Barrister Constance Harry Marshal, and Chief Pius Akinyelure.

Adesina said in the statement issued yesterday that the appointments took effect from the date of the incorporation of the NNPC Limited. Also appointed are executive commissioners of the Regulatory Commission. They are: Dr. Nuhu Habib, executive commissioner, development and production.

Others are Dr. Kelechi Onyekachi Ofoegbu, executive commissioner, economic regulations and strategic planning, Capt. Tonlagha Roland John, executive commissioner, health, safety, environment and community, and Jide Adeola, executive commissioner, corporate services and administration.

Buhari had earlier appointed the board chairman, executive commissioner, exploration and acreage management, and executive commissioner, finance and accounts.

New appointees at the Midstream and Downstream Petroleum Regulatory Authority are Francis Alabo Ogaree (Rivers), executive director Processing, Mustapha Lamorde (Adamawa), executive director, health, safety, environment and community, Mansur Kuliya (Kano), executive director, Midstream and Downstream Gas Infrastructure Fund, Bashir Sadiq (Sokoto), executive director, corporate services and administration, and Dr. Zainab Gobir (Kwara), executive Director, economic regulations and Strategic planning.

They join the board chairman, executive director, Downstream Systems, Storage and Retailing Infrastructure, the CEO, and Executive Director, Finance and Accounts, who had earlier been appointed.

For Midstream and Downstream Infrastructure Fund, new council members are; Mr. Effiong Abia (Akwa Ibom), Bobboi Ahmed (Adamawa), and Engr. Abdullahi Bukar (Katsina).

It will be recalled that President Buhari had last September written the Senate on the administrative structure amendments to the Petroleum Industry Act (PIA), which included appointment of non-executive board members, removal of the ministries of petroleum and finance from the board of the two new institutions, and appointment of executive directors.

Be the first to know when we publish an update

Leave a Reply