NCDMB, Others Win Excellence Awards at NIES 2022

0 440

The Nigeria LNG Company Ltd. (NLNG) has won the 2021 Gas Infrastructure Project Company of the year award in the Nigeria oil and gas sector.

The Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board (NCDMB) led the file of Nigerian public and private sector players in the oil and gas sector who excelled in various fields in 2021.

The NCDMB was honoured with an excellence award for its role, which the organizers of the fifth Nigeria International Energy Summit (NIES), said places Nigeria as role model in Africa in terms of local content development and monitoring.

The awards were conferred on all the organizations at the NIES gala night which held on Monday in Abuja
Commenting on the awards, the executive secretary of the Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board, Engr Simbi Wabote described the award as a first win for Nigeria, and the indigenous oil and gas sector.

“We at NCMDB are delighted about this award. It shows that our commitment and passion for local content benefits for indigenous firms is recognized and commendable beyond the shores of Nigeria. For sure, this award is a win for Nigeria, not just for NCMDB,” and elated Wabote said.

Other companies that bagged awards include Schlumberger Nigeria, Coleman Wires and Cables, Huawei Enterprises, Greenville LNG Ltd., Samsung Heavy Industries and OVH Energy Marketing Company Ltd.

Also on the awardees list were Chevron Nigeria Ltd., Waltersmith Petroman Company Ltd., Shell Nigeria and Production Company (SNEPCO), and TotalEnergies.

Secretary-general, Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC), Mr. Mohammed Barkindo, bagged the award of International Petroleum Diplomacy Person of the Year. Former minister of state, petroleum resources, Mr. Ibe Kachikwu, was honoured with Life Time Award. Similarly, group managing director, the Nigerian National Petroleum Company (NNPC) Ltd, Mr. Mele Kyari, bagged the Energy Industry Leadership Award.

Managing director, TotalEnergies Mr. Mike Sangster, and chairman, Waltersmith Group, Mr. Abdulrasaq Isa, shared the 2021 Energy Personality Award.

Also, managing director, SNEPCO, Mrs. Elohor Aiboni, and chief executive officer, Zigma Ltd Mrs. Funmi Ogbue, shared the Women in Energy Award.

By Chibisi Ohakah, Abuja

[email protected]

Leave a Reply